Education Advisory Council

Our Education Advisory Council is a group of educators with decades of experience in teaching Computer Science, across all grade levels - elementary, secondary, or at the university level.

    Alfred Thompson

    Computer Science Teacher / Bishop Guertin High School

    Alfred Thompson is a high school computer science teacher at Bishop Guertin High School in Nashua NH. Alfred is a member of the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) Board. He has been a professional software developer, a textbook author, a developer evangelist, a school technology coordinator, a school board member and more. Alfred sees himself as a computer science education activist working to help reach more young people with the knowledge that they can make the world a better place through software. Read more by Alfred Thompson at his Computer Science Teacher blog (

    Barbara Ericson

    Senior Research Scientist / Georgia Tech

    Barbara Ericson is a Senior Research Scientist and a part-time PhD student in Human-Centered Computing at Georgia Tech. She has worked to increase the quantity and quality of secondary computing teachers and the quantity and diversity of computing students since 2004. She has a master's degree in computer science from the University of Michigan and a bachelor's degree in computer science from Wayne State University. She and her husband, Dr. Mark Guzdial, were the winners of the 2010 Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Computing Educator Award. She was also the winner of the Richard A Newton award in 2012. She is an author of four books on Media Computation.

    Emmanuel Schanzer

    Director / Bootstrap

    Emmanuel Schanzer is a former computer scientist and math teacher, and is now a doctoral student at Harvard specializing in Algebra Education. He is the founder of Bootstrap, a national program that teaches hundreds of students each year to program their own videogames using an algebraic programming language. Since 2006, Bootstrap has successfully engaged an army of teachers, a half-dozen colleges and universities, and won support from organizations like the Computer Science Teachers Association, TripAdvisor, Palantir, Google, Microsoft, Facebook and the National Science Foundation. He cooks, codes, travels and mixes a mean old fashioned.

    Gail Chapman

    Director of Outreach, Exploring Computer Science

    Gail Chapman is Director of Outreach for Exploring Computer Science and works with partner districts on strategic planning related to implementation of ECS, including professional development, leadership development, and sustainability. She is co-designer of the ECS curriculum and professional development model and represents the ECS program as lead facilitator for the CS10K Community of Practice. Prior to joining the ECS team, Gail taught high school mathematics and computer science, including AP Computer Science, for 15 years and subsequently worked on the AP Computer Science program at both ETS and College Board; this work included assessment development, curriculum design, and professional development.

    Irene Lee

    Research Scientist / Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Irene Lee is a research scientist at MIT's Scheller Teacher Education Program / Education Arcade. She is the founder and director of Project GUTS: Growing Up Thinking Scientifically. Lee’s research focuses on students’ and teachers’ understanding of complex adaptive systems and their development of computational thinking skills. She is the chair of the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) Computational Thinking Task Force and serves as a lead writer of the K-12 Computer Science Frameworks and the CSTA K-12 Computer Science Standards. Lee is past president of the Supercomputing Challenge and the Swarm Development Group, and past director of the Learning Lab at Santa Fe Institute.

    Jeff Gray

    Professor / University of Alabama

    Jeff Gray is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Alabama. As a K5 Facilitator, Jeff has offered several dozen workshops that trained over 1,000 K5 educators on CS topics. He has been a leader on multiple NSF grants concentrating on K-12 CS education, including the CS10k grant that provided multi-year training on the CS Principles curriculum to 50 Alabama teachers, which resulted in the CSP4HS MOOC sponsored by Google. Many of his projects introduce CS into schools that have a high enrollment of underrepresented students. Starting in 2004, he has taught a series of multi-week student summer camps (dorm-based) and coordinated various K-12 CS student contests. Jeff has been a pilot instructor for CS Principles since 2011 and is an endorsed APSI trainer for the College Board. He is an NSF CAREER award recipient, ACM Distinguished Educator, and a Carnegie Foundation Professor of the Year.

    Joanna Goode

    Associate Professor / University of Oregon

    Joanna Goode is a professor of education studies at the University of Oregon and a former mathematics and computer science high school teacher. She completed her doctorate in urban schooling, her master’s degree in education, and her bachelor’s degree in applied mathematics and computing, all at UCLA. Joanna’s research examines how large-scale reforms in computer science education can provide new opportunities and introduce new challenges to equity and inclusion in K-12 computing classrooms. Joanna is the co-creator of the national Exploring Computer Science curriculum and professional development program and co-author of the book, Stuck in the Shallow End: Education, Race, and Computing (MIT Press, 2008).

    Owen Astrachan

    Professor of the Practice / Duke University

    Owen Astrachan is Professor of the Practice of Computer Science at Duke where he builds curricula and approaches to teaching intended for broad adoption and adaptation. He received an NSF Career award for introducing design patterns into undergraduate courses, was an inaugural recipient of the NSF/CISE Distinguished Education Fellow Award for emphasizing problem-oriented approaches, and has been the PI for the APCS Principles project since its inception. He has received three teaching awards, including one while on sabbatical at the University of British Columbia. In 2002 he received Duke's Richard K. Lublin award for "ability to engender genuine intellectual excitement, ability to engender curiosity, knowledge of field and ability to communicate that knowledge". He enjoys thinking, running, collaborating, and pushing limits gently.

    Rebecca Dovi

    Director of Education / CodeVA

    With 20 years experience as a high school computer science teacher she currently serves as the Director of Education for CodeVA, a Virginia non-profit focused on making computer science available to all Virginia students. She is a member of the national CSALT Computer Science Teachers Association Leadership Cohort and a Google Trailblazer Fellow in Computer Science Education. In July 2013 she began the development of the first MOOC for APCS. A 2012. Winner of the NCWIT award for Aspirations in Computing, she also serves on's Educational Advisory Council.

    Sheena Vaidyanathan

    Computer Science Integration Specialist / Los Altos School District

    Sheena Vaidyanathan has been teaching computer science in Los Altos School District for 7 years and has extensive experience with K-8 computer science curriculum development and professional development. Prior to her teaching career, Sheena worked in Silicon Valley’s technology industry as a computer scientist. She holds undergraduate and graduate degrees in computer science as well as a California Single Subject Teaching Credential in Math. She serves as the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) Board member for K-8. Sheena has presented at several conferences and writes articles on CS education. See more on her work at